September 2011 // GA004 // Digital / Vinyl / CD

  1. Searchlights
  2. Central Station Blues
  3. Carved From Stone
  4. Constellations
  5. Mountains Too Steep
  6. Poison To The Vine
  7. Little Traps
  8. Fresh Ideas In Home Security
  9. Voyager
  10. NML
  11. Queenie

Buy at Bandcamp

Buy on Vinyl


Carved From Stone

Fresh Ideas in Home Security

Making of Constellations Doco

Mountains Too Steep – Live Recording, Same Sky Studio, Austin TX

Poison To The Vine (Live) – Woodland, Brisbane June 2011


Grand Atlantic have proved they know how to balance psychedelia with ballsy rock hooks.
Matt Coyte, Rolling Stone – 4 Stars

Brisbane modern rock band Grand Atlantic is back with their third offering, following the acclaimed 2009 effort “How We Survive”. “Constellations” has a darker, more solemn atmosphere to it in general, perhaps due to the fact that the album was recorded in an abandoned psychiatric hospital. Par for the course, Phil Usher unleashes some head bobbing riffs and has a smoky rasp that makes the music sizzle with excitement. The songs are powerful and exert a more prominent dose of psychedelic rock this time around, but I don’t feel that the melodic hooks are as sharp. Standout tracks include the epic opener, “Searchlights”, the engaging “Carved From Stone”, and the energetic blues of the first single, “Fresh Ideas In Home Security”. If you like Oasis, Jet, or Kings of Leon, be sure to check out Grand Atlantic. – Now This ROCKS

For their third album Constellations, Grand Atlantic departed Brisbane for Flying Nun country, aka Dunedin, New Zealand. However, listeners shouldn’t expect to confuse this album with the crisp, classic indie pop of your Bats, Chills etc. Rather, the record takes their guitar pop craftsmanship and gives it a moodier, darker edge. Suitably enough given its name, the lengthy title track brings in space-rock elements, while lead single Poison To The Vine swings with a Stems-like garage abandon. With its hulking Oasis-esque drumbeat, Little Traps has hints of shoegaze and classic Britpop, and lovers of that classic pop melody / swirling guitar combination should not go past opening track Searchlights. The record as a whole showcases a subtle evolution in mainman Phil Usher’s songwriting though he delivers these headier tunes with his usual gravelly assurance. While some tracks convince more than others (I’d take the shake-your-moneymaker riff rock of Central Station Blues over the twangin’ balladry of Voyager, for instance), there’s not a genuinely duff moment on the record. These songs would simply cook live.
3.5 Stars – Matt Thrower, RAVE